It happens more often than you might think, and to more people than you may have thought. DUI cases are common; you’re out having a good time, have a few drinks, then get behind the wheel of a car. Arizona’s strict DUI laws make even consuming minimal amounts of alcohol mean you now have a DUI on the record.
What is DUI?
Arizona DUI laws are some of the strictest in the nation and employs a zero-tolerance policy. This means that if your blood alcohol level is above .08, you can expect to get a DUI. The amount of the fine will depend on how much over the legal limit you are, making it either a regular DUI or extreme DUI. A regular DUI will result in the following:
Extreme DUI cases have even stricter punishments, and will be enforced if the blood alcohol level is above .15:
- First offence will come with a $2,500 fine, and a minimum of 30 days in jail. In addition, community service and education will be mandated by the court, as well as the certified ignition interlock installed in your car.
- Any offence after the first will result in your license being revoked for 12 months, minimum $3,250 fine and a minimum jail sentence of 120 days. Community service and education classes will be required, as well as your vehicle being equipped with a certified ignition interlock.
If you have been charged with a DUI, let us help you! Occasionally, police administered tests malfunction or other circumstances could help your case. No matter what the situation is, getting legal help is incredibly important in a DUI case.